Good Friday

Many of my long-standing readers will be aware that I can often go weeks without adding to my blog and I seem to be perpetually apologising for this; well, once again SORRY ! I see it is over a month since I last posted on here; as usual the excuse is one of business which is ironic in the light of my last posting entitled Shells.

I have arrived at Good Friday tired and feeling quite worn out. This last month has contained a tremendous

Good Friday
Good Friday (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

amount of Church politics surrounding the circuit, around particular Churches and personnel and whilst one knows that dealing with people will always bring a certain amount of wheeling and dealing, grumbling and griping, tears and laughter it still leaves me drained. Having to be the supposed `fount of all knowledge`, the one to whom everyone turns for a decision (sometimes so that they can blame me if it goes wrong), the be at all events person really takes it out of you. Consequently, I have arrived at Good friday not feeling as though I have journeyed in Holy Week itself.So much time is spent on administration and overseeing that the spiritual element of Ministry disappears, and more importantly my own spirituality begins to decline. I am all too aware of the dangers of this.

However, although I spent Maundy Thursday wanting to do no more than hide and sleep I woke this morning feeling surprisingly refreshed and energised. For the first time in 21 years of Ministry I havent had a Good Friday service to lead ! The way circumstances have come about the two services I should have been involved with ended up being led by others; consequently, I was left to worship (a rare treat). Yes, I know there will be some who will say that I am paid to lead worship and therefore should have “been doing something” but today has been rather lovely by the opposite being true.

 If Presbyters are always leading worship, Sunday by Sunday, day by day, then where does their spiritual nourishment come from ? Yes, we can point to Scripture and prayer and both are invaluable and vital, but we mustn`t forget how important worship is. Worship brings an opportunity for God to really touch our hearts with His transforming power because it is in worship that we focus on him more than at any other time (or we should). It is through the singing, prayers, preaching, silence, exuberant praise, sharing that God speaks to us directly or through our brothers and sisters.

If Presbyters are always taken up with the mechanics of worship we miss out on so much which is vital to our own spiritual journey.

Today I sat in the congregation whilst a Methodist worship leader led and an Anglican Vicar preached and then afterwards walked in a procession of witness around the town, mixing largely with three Salvation Army stalwarts. It was very special.

Tonight I have attended a Good Friday reflection in another circuit Church which was incredibly moving, bringing many (including myself) close to tears using a mixture of music, words, lighting and hymn singing we were transported back to that first Good Friday, concluding with the body of Jesus being carried out.

I have worshipped truly today and I am now in a better place ready for the coming joy; perhaps my Holy Week walk has taken place over the last few months rather than just this week, but I now stand on the verge of the Easter joy and with the family of Christ around the world I can truly say

“Its`s Friday, but Sunday`s a-coming !!”

 

Sunday Morning