On Eagles wings……………..

I was privileged to take the funeral service of Harry today in my capacity as Chaplain to Methodist Care Homes, Maple Leaf House. Harry had been one of our residents. His funeral was to take place at Bolehill Chapel, a place I’d never been to, set on the edge of the peaks as part of the town of Wirksworth. The view from the Chapel was simply stunning and I found myself praising God for his wonderful creation.

Harry had been a keen falconer and as I shared this with the congregation I could imagine Harry taking his birds and watching them soar over the hills with total freedom and yet secure in the knowledge of returning to Harry for protection and food. I could also imagine the pridce Harry must have had in knowing he had trained the birds well.

I think its something like that with God. He rears us and sets us free to soar in our lives. As we do so he watches with pride and delight as we discover the gifts and talents we have and as we live our lives to the fullest possible. All he asks of us is that we regularly return to him for feeding and protection; feeding spiritually and protection from the evil one.

I don’t think that its any coincidence that the Bible speaks of `soaring up as on eagles winds`. God created us to live this life to the fullest and to glory in that which he has given us. Sadly too often we don’t do that and we remain like caged birds bemoaning our lot or too scared to change for fear of the unknown. Harry’s birds never knew that fear; for them it was a life of soaring and flying. I pray that our lives may be the same.